top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmber

We Didn’t Know

It always amazes me when I hear people say things like “we didn’t know” when I talk about accessibility. They use the excuse that since they don’t walk this path, they don’t know what we go through. I’ve been on this journey for 6 years now and it’s all I think about. I think it’s time that more people started thinking about it also. I know that looking for accessibility isn’t on the top of everyone’s minds, but we need to start looking at the bigger picture and having compassion for others around us.


I use my platform to educate others on the difficulties that we face with raising a daughter who is disabled. Still yet, I get numerous comments about “we wouldn’t have known if you hadn’t told us.”


While I’m glad that I’ve taught you something, I’m tired of the “we didn’t know” excuse. Disabilities aren’t new. People have had disabilities for as long as we’ve been on this earth. I’m sure you’ve seen people out and about who struggle with mobility or have other disabilities. I advocate in hopes that people will stop using that as an excuse and, instead, lean in and ASK what can be done to make things better. Get to know me and my child. Do work on your own with local organizations in your area to make playgrounds, activities, events, and businesses more accessible. If you don’t know how to do that, talk to people from the disabled community. It’s not enough to just throw your hands up and say you didn’t know.


We are tired. We are tired from having to advocate for every little thing our children need. We’re tired from having to educate everyone on how they can be more inclusive. We need people to step forward and take action to help us. Ask us questions. Ask what our kids need to be able to access things.


The next time you are out and about, take a look around. Would someone in a wheelchair be able to access this business? Is there enough space for a walker? Is there a way for someone who is deaf or blind to have the same access as people who aren’t? Start taking notice of these things every time you go out. It will start to open your eyes to how truly difficult it is to navigate this world if you are disabled. Try to start seeing things from another perspective and you may begin to understand what we go through on a daily basis.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Hard Truth

My daughter had a trach placed on October 4th of last year. I knew it was going to be a big transition, but I didn’t realize the toll it...

New Year, New Priorities

When I was a little girl, I never saw my parents argue. I never saw my mom get upset, and I only recall my dad losing his temper once. I...

Not so Happy Holidays

There is so much guilt surrounding the holiday season. While I love Christmas and the magic of the season, it brings on a sense of...

Comments


bottom of page