top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Nowhere Else I’d Rather Be

My daughter has been in the hospital for a month. I have only left the hospital once to go to lunch with my husband. Many people have offered to come and stay with my daughter so I could go home, and I know why they are. I just can't bring myself to do it. You see, part of being a caregiver (and mom) is an image ability to advocate for your child. I know her best, and it's very hard for me to trust that anyone else would advocate as well as me in my absense. I have a hard time trusting people because of past trauma and experiences during my daughter's journey with Alexander disease.


I promise that no amount of asking will change my mind. I thrive and cope when I'm able to advocate. It's what I was born to do. Building relationships with medical staff has helped them to understand what our goals are for Jordyn and has helped them to better meet Jordyn's needs.


If I leave, I risk missing an opportunity to advocate and make sure my daughter is well taken care of. Small details get forgotten, so I often have to remind nurses daily of those minor details. Some things aren't communicated from one shift to the next and everyone has a different way of doing things. I know that if I left to get a break, I wouldn't actually rest because my heart and mind would be with my daughter.


When people ask how they can help, I don't know how to respond because aside from visiting us to keep me company and bringing me snacks, comfort items, and toiletries, I have no other needs than to be with my daughter.


It doesn't mean, of course, that my heart doesn't ache for my husband and my infant son. I miss them more than words can express, but I know this is where I need to be right now. It's extremely difficult to be separated for such a long time, but we'll get through it and it will only bring us all closer when we finally get to reunite under one roof.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Hard Truth

My daughter had a trach placed on October 4th of last year. I knew it was going to be a big transition, but I didn’t realize the toll it...

New Year, New Priorities

When I was a little girl, I never saw my parents argue. I never saw my mom get upset, and I only recall my dad losing his temper once. I...

Not so Happy Holidays

There is so much guilt surrounding the holiday season. While I love Christmas and the magic of the season, it brings on a sense of...

Comments


bottom of page