top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Tiny Miracles

I was born to be a mother. I've known from a very early age that I wanted children. It's what drove my choice of a career in college. I firmly believe this is what God made me to do.


When my daughter was born in 2013, I had a hard time. It was a traumatic birth experience and she was never a good eater or sleeper. We struggled to connect. It was an exhausting first year of life for her. Two months shy of her 2nd birthday, we learned she had a rare, neurodegenerative condition. This explained all the past struggles she faced with sleeping, eating, and milestones.


I threw myself into advocacy as a way to cope with the difficult news that my baby girl had this horrible disease. Slowly, piece by piece, I lost a bit of myself. Caring for my daughter became my sole purpose in life.


9 years later, we decided to try for a second child. My daughter wasn't getting better, and we knew that having a sibling would bring her so much joy. We welcomed a baby boy in November.


It was a difficult transition for my daughter, but 4 months later, she is head over heels for her baby brother. She smiles when he enters the room and requests to hug him and hold him all the time. She's gentle with him and seems to understand, most of the time, that he's small.


Baby boy loves his big sister. He has a big personality and I know he's going to be a fierce protector and advocate for big sis. Watching them grow up together and form a special bond is what dreams are made of.


In the middle of the night when I'm rocking him back to sleep, I can't help but praise Jesus for this miracle and for blessing us with this life. Baby brother is perfectly healthy, and is the happiest baby. He has such a laid back temperament and we are so blessed! He and his sister balance each other out well.


In many ways, our son brought some healing to our hearts. He has filled holes that were created by the heavy grief of parenting a disabled child who also happens to have a terminal diagnosis. Life is heavy, but we are now able to see so many slivers of hope and are finding our way back to who we were pre-diagnosis.


If you're struggling to see God's miracles, just look at your children. They will teach you so much about life and love. Just don't blink or you"ll miss out on some of the best moments of your life. ❤️

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Hard Truth

My daughter had a trach placed on October 4th of last year. I knew it was going to be a big transition, but I didn’t realize the toll it...

New Year, New Priorities

When I was a little girl, I never saw my parents argue. I never saw my mom get upset, and I only recall my dad losing his temper once. I...

Not so Happy Holidays

There is so much guilt surrounding the holiday season. While I love Christmas and the magic of the season, it brings on a sense of...

コメント


bottom of page